Maximum filesize import

Discuss Simlab 3D Plugins developed for Autodesk 3ds Max
kiki
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 6:04 pm

Maximum filesize import

Post by kiki » Fri Jan 07, 2011 6:08 pm

Hi,

I need your help because the solidworks importer plugin crashes when I try to import files bigger than about 35mo.

When I look at the task manager while importing the RAM grows up to 1800mo and then the plugin crashes.

I'm using 3dsmax 2009 64bits with 6go of ram.

What can I do ?

Thank you

neo
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:34 am

Re: Maximum filesize import

Post by neo » Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:18 pm

try lowering tessellation quality in solidworks
viewtopic.php?f=12&t=347&p=1534&hilit=s ... tion#p1533

kiki
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 6:04 pm

Re: Maximum filesize import

Post by kiki » Sat Jan 08, 2011 1:14 pm

Thank you,

I wish I could but I don't have Solidworks and the file is given to me by my client.

He told me he tried to lower tessellation but files are still larger than 35mo.

Any other suggestion ?

User avatar
SimLab
Posts: 2979
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 8:09 am

Re: Maximum filesize import

Post by SimLab » Sat Jan 08, 2011 4:43 pm

So are you trying the latest version of the plugin
The latest version includes some memory optimization that makes some of the files that did not work in the previous edition work with with this one.

The SolidWorks may fail if the model you are trying to import includes a large number of instances.
As we are utilizing the obj exporter to communicate the model to 3DS. We will address this in the next release.

If you are using the latest version and you can communicate the file, please send it to support@simlab-soft.com (hopefully by FTP) and we will check the file for you and help in the import.

Cheers,

Ashraf

kiki
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 6:04 pm

Re: Maximum filesize import

Post by kiki » Sat Jan 08, 2011 5:02 pm

I'm not using the last version of the plugin because I have a licence problem. The new version needs a license.sl file and I only have a license.txt file where I copy and past the license.

I sent a mail to license@simlab-soft.com to get the license.sl but am waiting for their answer.

So i'm going to try with the last version.

Unfortunately i'm not allowed to communicate the file so I think that if it doesn't work I will be on my own...

Thank you for your help.

I'll let you know if it works with the newer version.

User avatar
SimLab
Posts: 2979
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 8:09 am

Re: Maximum filesize import

Post by SimLab » Sat Jan 08, 2011 8:21 pm

The license system was changed, but this is a free upgrade, please send an email to license@simlab-soft.com with your purchase information, so we can send you the new key.

Cheers,

Ashraf

kiki
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 6:04 pm

Re: Maximum filesize import

Post by kiki » Sat Jan 08, 2011 8:35 pm

As I said in my previous post I already sent a mail to license@simlab-soft.com this afternoon.

I'm now waiting for my license.sl file.

Cheers,

Christophe

User avatar
SimLab
Posts: 2979
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 8:09 am

Re: Maximum filesize import

Post by SimLab » Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:32 pm

Christophe,

The license was sent to you on the 6th of January.
Please check your email, if you still did not receive it, I will resend it.

kiki
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 6:04 pm

Re: Maximum filesize import

Post by kiki » Sat Jan 08, 2011 11:09 pm

Yes you sent me the license.sl on the 6th for my laptop.but the one i need now is to update the software on my desktop computer.
I sent you informations for this license today.
Thank you

User avatar
SimLab
Posts: 2979
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 8:09 am

Re: Maximum filesize import

Post by SimLab » Sun Jan 09, 2011 10:40 pm

Done

Post Reply