Page 1 of 1

Copy & Paste in SimLab?

Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2018 11:29 pm
by cyana
Dear SimLab,

is there a way to copy & paste objects between different sim files?
'Copy object' is a bit misleading, it actually duplicates the selected object. What I would need is to copy an object to the clipboard, and paste it into another sim file.

At the moment, I have to
- isolate the desired object
- delete the rest of the assembly
- save it under a different name (very dangerous when you mistake 'Save' with 'Save as')
- import it to the other file
- merge identical materials
- get rid of the generated tree structure
- get rid of the generated perspective
- and finally drag it into the object tree of the assembly

Is there an easier way to do this?

thanks
Cyana

Re: Copy & Paste in SimLab?

Posted: Thu Nov 08, 2018 8:49 am
by GreyEnt
hello Cyana,
is an interesting question.
Unfortunately, I have found no solution.

greeting
GreyEnt

Re: Copy & Paste in SimLab?

Posted: Thu Nov 08, 2018 9:17 am
by Pocc
I have a folder set up in my 3D objects where I can drag objects from one file - think of it as using a temp cache directory - then I open the file I want to insert into and simply drag it from the 3D objects temp cache directory into the new model.

Re: Copy & Paste in SimLab?

Posted: Thu Nov 08, 2018 9:18 am
by jsaid
@cyana,

I agree with you, the name Copy Object is totally misleading. I believe it should be renamed to Duplicate Object, because that is what it does. Besides, its keyboard shortcut should be changed from Ctl+C to Ctl+D.