Tesselationquality for Rhinomodels

Share any feature you'd like to see in composer coming releases
User avatar
Alex
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2015 8:02 pm
Location: Magdeburg
Contact:

Tesselationquality for Rhinomodels

Postby Alex » Mon Dec 18, 2017 2:03 pm

Hello to you all,

I am currently working on a project which has to be rendered with simlab.
The model is a kind of a vehicle roof made of glass fibre. Due to Non-Disclosure-Agreements I cannot share or show the full model.

But i guess the shown part represents the problem good:

When I have complex models with many nurbs-surfaces the visual quality (tesselation) in simlab is dramatically reduced.
Unfortunately there is no import Option for the tesselation quality yet. When I import the same model as step with highest polygon count the result is even worse the the original Rhino .3dm. :| I need e.g. the double or 4 times the amout of polygons.

Info of the full model itself (not shown below)
Number of vertices 74596
Number of Polygons 94020

Some example surfaces of the imported full model (rest is deleted due to NDA). You can clearly see the polygon edges :cry:
freeform glassfiber - part of fullmodel.jpg


Some extracted surfaces of the full model in rhino
freeform glassfiber only 5 surfaces rhino.jpg

The surfaces have a good quality and are consistent with g2 curvature
glass fiber good surface quality.JPG


Thoses few surfaces imported to simlab look good indeed :)
freeform glassfiber only 5 surfaces .jpg


Edit:
I tried the Simlab plugin for rhino and neither "Transfer to SL" nor "Link with SL" gives me a better quality.

Thank you for your help!

Best regards
Alex

SimLab
Posts: 2718
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 8:09 am

Re: Tesselationquality for Rhinomodels

Postby SimLab » Mon Dec 18, 2017 3:31 pm

Alex,

The plugin transfers the model from Rhino to SimLab Composer.

The plugin uses the tessellation quality from Rhino.

Try to increase this quality from the menu Tools -> Options
Mesh, as shown in the attached image

Rhino.png

User avatar
Alex
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2015 8:02 pm
Location: Magdeburg
Contact:

Re: Tesselationquality for Rhinomodels

Postby Alex » Mon Dec 18, 2017 3:42 pm

Okay thank you alot! :D

This works, but if I want maximum performance I have to switch the slider back and for export to better quality again.

I don't know the possibilities within the API and the Simlab plugin, but it would be useful when the plugin switches automatically to "better quality" when linking or exporting to Simlab.

And thank you for your quick answer and your great software development & communication!
I love SL 8.2 and the new 360° Camera. I also use it with a VR Player on my Android Phone :)


Return to “Composer Feature Requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests