Copy & Paste in SimLab?

Discuss Simlab Composer released by Simlab Soft
cyana
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 1:49 am

Copy & Paste in SimLab?

Postby cyana » Wed Nov 07, 2018 11:29 pm

Dear SimLab,

is there a way to copy & paste objects between different sim files?
'Copy object' is a bit misleading, it actually duplicates the selected object. What I would need is to copy an object to the clipboard, and paste it into another sim file.

At the moment, I have to
- isolate the desired object
- delete the rest of the assembly
- save it under a different name (very dangerous when you mistake 'Save' with 'Save as')
- import it to the other file
- merge identical materials
- get rid of the generated tree structure
- get rid of the generated perspective
- and finally drag it into the object tree of the assembly

Is there an easier way to do this?

thanks
Cyana

User avatar
GreyEnt
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2018 12:21 pm

Re: Copy & Paste in SimLab?

Postby GreyEnt » Thu Nov 08, 2018 8:49 am

hello Cyana,
is an interesting question.
Unfortunately, I have found no solution.

greeting
GreyEnt

User avatar
Pocc
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2017 5:32 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Copy & Paste in SimLab?

Postby Pocc » Thu Nov 08, 2018 9:17 am

I have a folder set up in my 3D objects where I can drag objects from one file - think of it as using a temp cache directory - then I open the file I want to insert into and simply drag it from the 3D objects temp cache directory into the new model.

User avatar
jsaid
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2015 2:19 pm
Location: Amman, Jordan
Contact:

Re: Copy & Paste in SimLab?

Postby jsaid » Thu Nov 08, 2018 9:18 am

@cyana,

I agree with you, the name Copy Object is totally misleading. I believe it should be renamed to Duplicate Object, because that is what it does. Besides, its keyboard shortcut should be changed from Ctl+C to Ctl+D.


Return to “SimLab Composer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests