Composer - 3D PDF - no lighting with "lights from file"

Discuss Simlab Composer released by Simlab Soft
sigmund
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2020 7:58 pm

Composer - 3D PDF - no lighting with "lights from file"

Post by sigmund » Thu Aug 20, 2020 8:15 pm

Hi forum,

I guess I totally miss something - I have the following problem:
Exporting PDF with my Composer trial with " lights from file" give me a totally black objects in the scene.
Switching to the preset lighting in Acrobat works fine.

What I did:
To avoid any problems that come with an imported object I created some spheres and added a light. Under "3D PDF Setting/3D" I chose as "light type" "Lights from file". Viewing the PDF in Adobe Reader I now have totaly black objects. This happens with point lights, spot lights, area lights and IES. It though works with directional light (which look awefull ). No effect with light settings pushed up. No changes with different material settings. Exporting with the "PRC Based" option deletes the light from file" option in the PDF completly.

It works with an other applications so it shouldnt be an Acrobat issue.

Any ideas?

Sigmund

User avatar
SimLab
Posts: 3209
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 8:09 am

Re: Composer - 3D PDF - no lighting with "lights from file"

Post by SimLab » Sun Aug 23, 2020 3:41 pm

Light from file works in the following way.

It searches for lights in the scene, if there is at least one light in the scene it uses it, if no lights found it automatically switches to CAD optimized light.

So what does it mean to have black scene when you have light from file.
It means usually you have a very weak light in the scene, try to increase light power significantly and export after that.

sigmund
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2020 7:58 pm

Re: Composer - 3D PDF - no lighting with "lights from file"

Post by sigmund » Mon Aug 24, 2020 12:41 am

Dear Simlab,

thank you for your anwer.
As I said in my first post I already pushed up the brightness for the individual lights to values from 1>10>50>500>5000>99999 (or what ever is the maximum). I also pushed up the lights globaly in the export setting. No difference: erverything is totaly black when exporting with "lights from file" except when I use directional lights.

Kind regards,

Sigmund

User avatar
SimLab
Posts: 3209
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 8:09 am

Re: Composer - 3D PDF - no lighting with "lights from file"

Post by SimLab » Mon Aug 24, 2020 12:53 pm

The other factor is model size, lights should work fine with models on sizes (in meters for example)

as you can see in the following image, 3 lights with power of 200 (reg, green, and blue) are lighting the model.

unlike other lights directional light is not affected by size of the model, maybe that is why it works for your model.
3d-pdf-light.png

sigmund
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2020 7:58 pm

Re: Composer - 3D PDF - no lighting with "lights from file"

Post by sigmund » Mon Aug 24, 2020 5:28 pm

Dear SimLab,

thank you for your quick reaction.
I guess it shouldn´t be an issue with units. I used the default plane and added a sphere and a cylinder with 0,5m diameter. Light intesity is at 500 (see the attached file "test-again.sim").

I tested it on an other PC (both Win10) and there it works, except the ground plane is way to dark though using identical material settings (see attached images). One could think it is simply an issue of my PC (though having the newest & newly installed Acrobat Version and driver for graphic card), but now comes the tricky part: exporting a pdf with "light from file" from Finalmesh App works perfectly on both PCs (test-finalmesh.pdf).


Kind reagards,

Michael
Attachments
test-finalmesh.pdf
PDF exported with App "Finalmesh"
(20.06 KiB) Downloaded 15 times
test-composer.pdf
PDF exported with Simlab Composer
(802.77 KiB) Downloaded 15 times
pdf-second-pc.jpg
pdf-black.jpg
test-again2.sim
Test scene simlab composer
(286.29 KiB) Downloaded 7 times

User avatar
SimLab
Posts: 3209
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 8:09 am

Re: Composer - 3D PDF - no lighting with "lights from file"

Post by SimLab » Thu Aug 27, 2020 2:49 pm

Do you know what video cards you have on the two machines?

sigmund
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2020 7:58 pm

Re: Composer - 3D PDF - no lighting with "lights from file"

Post by sigmund » Thu Aug 27, 2020 3:49 pm

"Do you know what video cards you have on the two machines?"

Win10 DesktopPC-1 (all black): RTX 2070 Super
Win10 DesktopPC-2 (visible, but ground plane to dark): Radeon HD 6450

FYI: I tested it on two other machine:
Win10 DesktopPC-3 (all black): GEforce 1070
Win10 Laptop (visible, but ground plane to dark): Onchip GPU: Intel Graphics Media Accelerator (GMA) 4500MHD

So it does not seem to be an isolated problem on my PC.
Does the PDF look correct on you system?
Can you reproduce the problem?

Thank you,

Sigmund

sigmund
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2020 7:58 pm

Re: Composer - 3D PDF - no lighting with "lights from file"

Post by sigmund » Thu Aug 27, 2020 5:25 pm

Addition:
Testet in on an other Win10 DesktopPC with a GEforce 1070: all black

sigmund
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2020 7:58 pm

Re: Composer - 3D PDF - no lighting with "lights from file"

Post by sigmund » Tue Sep 15, 2020 4:58 pm

Addition:
Purchased a license. Still no lighting with "lights from file".

User avatar
SimLab
Posts: 3209
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 8:09 am

Re: Composer - 3D PDF - no lighting with "lights from file"

Post by SimLab » Tue Sep 15, 2020 8:46 pm

Can you try this article please let me know if it helps

Post Reply