Rendering in V10

Discuss Simlab Composer released by Simlab Soft
Post Reply
User avatar
Tessla
Posts: 2010
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:15 pm

Rendering in V10

Post by Tessla » Wed Aug 26, 2020 12:06 pm

Hi.. I rendered my very first spring I modelled using C4D.. Fantastic..! I even animated it but sad to say I cannot show it here.. But.. if Simlab adds some requested features, I can.. ;) ;) There is something fun about modelling springs.. I just love springs.. Especially when they are animated!!.. We really want to add an animated spring into a VR..

V10 in are opinion is defiantly quicker at rendering than V9, depending on the settings. SPP 400 is quite high, or at least high enough for most uses and will look fine in a movie file.. This single image, 1280X1080 took just under 3 minutes to render.. I think that was fine.. The output is nice too..

Tesselaar..
Attachments
SimLab.jpg

User avatar
jsaid
Posts: 191
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2015 2:19 pm
Location: Amman, Jordan
Contact:

Re: Rendering in V10

Post by jsaid » Sun Aug 30, 2020 8:51 am

@Tessla,

According to my knowledge, SLC does not animate springs. However, try to animate springs in 3D DCC of your choice then export it to FBX, for example, with enabled baked animation option, before importing it to SLC; I think this way should let you add an animated spring into a VR experience.

Regards

User avatar
Tessla
Posts: 2010
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:15 pm

Re: Rendering in V10

Post by Tessla » Sun Aug 30, 2020 11:28 am

Hi.. You are right, Simlab Composer does not animate a springs.. I created it in C4D. I used it to test out the rendering speed between V9 and V10 using the same model. This is just a rendered image to share using a spring as the model... and to see the quality of render between V9 and V10..

Actually, the FBX format, even after Baking does not support the morphing animation.. We have experimented so much these past few weeks.. The only way we have found is to use the Alembic .abc format or as a sequence of .obj's..

Flexible animation is lacking in Composer, but we feel we have found a way to do it..

Tesselaar.

RugDoctor
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2021 12:41 am

Re: Rendering in V10

Post by RugDoctor » Fri Jul 09, 2021 12:44 am

The only way we have found is to use the Alembic .abc format or as a sequence of .obj's..

Flexible animation is lacking in Composer, but we feel we have found a way to do it..
Would you be able to share your workflow for this situation? I am in a similar position where I really need to use either an Alembic format, or at worst, an .OBJ sequence.

Cheers!

jrbhatt
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2021 6:29 am

Re: Rendering in V10

Post by jrbhatt » Mon Jul 12, 2021 4:07 am

Even i wanted to know how to use Alembic Format in Simlab Composer?
Regards,
Jay Bhatt
Founder & CEO
Prolific 3D Tech

RugDoctor
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2021 12:41 am

Re: Rendering in V10

Post by RugDoctor » Mon Jul 12, 2021 12:37 pm

I spoke to their support team and just from poking around online it seems unlikely Alembic will see support. Its just too tedious.

I did find this post:

https://discourse.threejs.org/t/quill-v ... lb/18668/6

and am working on making a workflow around it using .OBJ Sequences out to .GLTF which Composer can take in. The output is very similar to Alembic, since its a frame-by-frame rendering, but its a longer workaround than just using Alembic, lol. But it does mean Morph Targets and things that are a little stranger than rigged meshes will work no problem.

I should also mention, the Three.js editor struggles with larger files, but I am poking around to get a CLI script going

Post Reply